Skip to content

Ada Colorina & Focus on the Arts – Part 2

April 30, 2013
Students still hard at work

Students still hard at work

It was Wednesday.  The dedication was scheduled for 6pm and there was no way in hell we were going to have 2 benches done.  Fortunately, our first bench was almost complete and the second one was on its way.  We had enough to show but that didn’t take away from the stress of the day.   As the school’s Focus program was in full effect on Wed, we didn’t have any student participation…but we did have live music to keep our spirits high and heels tapping.

Actually, I was blown away with the talent the high school brought in.  The whole point of Focus is for students to engage in a 4 day program that celebrates every aspect of the arts.   Students get a rare opportunity to see performers and take workshops with professionals in all areas of the arts.  They can take an acting class with the casting director of a renowned theatre company, hear the personal stories of musicians that worked their way up and support themselves fully by writing and producing their own music or dance with members of a world-class dance company.  Hey, I even saw students get up in front of their peers and jam out their own raps with the guest musicians playing in the background. And let’s not forget the opportunity to paint with one of Puerto Vallarta’s real treasures…Ms. Ada Colorina.

These kids were super talented and it was inspiring to see them toss caution to the side and just jump into their passion.  The school hosts writing workshops, arts classes in every imaginable medium and experts in architecture, film and a myriad of arts careers.  I was seriously jealous.  I grew up just a few towns away and we never had anything like this when I was in high school.  Of course, that was quite some time ago (cough, cough).

I wanted you to see some pics of the benches as we completed them. Enjoy!

The final detail work could have gone on for days.  I often wonder...how do artists know when a work is complete?

The final detail work could have gone on for days. I often wonder…how do artists know when a work is complete?

The Final Bench celebrating the Sister Cities of Puerto Vallarta and honoring Jim Rosenbaum, distinguished member of the Sister Cities board.  What a special way to honor a great man.

The Final Bench celebrating the Sister Cities of Puerto Vallarta and  Highland Park.  Both of the benches honor the memory of  Jim Rosenbaum, distinguished member of the Sister Cities board. What a special way to honor a great man.  I wish I had a chance to meet him.

The second bench showcased the activities of Focus on the Arts at Highland Park High School.  Both benches will be place on the grounds of the school.

The second bench showcased the activities of Focus on the Arts at Highland Park High School. Both benches will be place on the grounds of the school.

 

I know the hours that went into these works of art as I was there by Ada’s side along with my counterpart Ms. Wendy from the Sister Cities board.  Ada could have spent another 2 days working on these…but they were as done as they were going to get and we all needed a break.  I was so honored to be her apprentice this week.  I love to paint myself but I’m no Ada Colorina.  But who knows what the future may bring…maybe someday with more training from my network of Travel Gal artists, I too can be a celebrated artist like Ada.  😉

For more information on the Focus program, please visit:  http://www.hphsfocus.org/

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment